A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.

This article appeared on the Aero-News Network.

Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA | Aero-News Network 
Tue, Oct 14, 2008 Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA Permits Rocket Powered Aircraft Flights At Over 20
Venues In US The Rocket Racing League has announced that it has been granted an Experimental Exhibition Certificate from the FAA for the first
of its next-generation Rocket Racer that has been selected as the baseline design for the fleet moving forward. This exhibition type certification
marks the first time in the FAA’s history that a production level rocket powered aircraft has been cleared to perform exhibition flight demonstrations
at over 20 venues across the US . The DKNY Bridenstine Rocket Racer vehicle, built on a Velocity Aircraft airframe and equipped with liquid
oxygen (LOX) & alcohol engines manufactured by Armadillo Aerospace, was used in test flights to demonstrate the Rocket Racer’s stability, safety,
performance and reliability to the FAA. “I would like to personally thank the FAA for their assistance through this process”, said Granger Whitelaw,
Rocket Racing League Chief Executive Officer. “This historic moment was built upon the unprecedented cooperation between our company,
Armadillo Aerospace, and the FAA. The League will now move forward with solidifying venues for its 2009 Exhibition season and be on course for
the official race season in 2010.” The league plans to work with show, airport and local FAA authorities to select 8 venues from the more than 20 that
have been approved by the FAA. Among the venues approved by the FAA for the Rocket Racers include: National Championship Air Races and Air
Show, Reno, Nevada; Miramar Air Show, San Diego, California; Las Cruces International Airport, Las Cruces, New Mexico; Aviation Nation, Las
Vegas, Nevada; Sebring U.S. Sport Aviation Expo, Sebring, Florida; McGuire Air Force Base Airshow, Wrightstown, New Jersey; Igor I Sikorsky
Memorial Airport, Bridgeport, Connecticut; Oklahoma Spaceport, Burns Flat, Oklahoma; Spirit of St Louis Airport, St Louis, Missouri; Wings and
Wheels Fly-in, Sheboygan, Wisconsin; Lackland AirFest, San Antonio, Texas; Langley Air Force Base Air Show, Hampton, Virginia; EAA
AirVenture, Oshkosh, Wisconsin; NAS JAX Air Show, Jacksonville, Florida; Albert Whitted Airport, St Petersburg, Florida; Moffett Federal
Airfield, Mountain View, California; Mojave Air & Space Port, Mojave, California; New York Air Show at Jones Beach, Farmingdale, New York;
Caddo Mills Municipal Airport, Caddo Mills, Texas; Majors Airport, Greenville, Texas; Grayson County Airport, Sherman/Denison, Texas; Fort
Worth Alliance Air Show, Fort Worth, Texas. Founded in 2005 by two-time Indianapolis 500 winning team partner Granger Whitelaw and X PRIZE
Chairman and CEO Peter H. Diamandis, MD, the Rocket Racing League (RRL ) is a new entertainment sports league that combines the exhilaration
of racing with the power of rocket engines. To be held at venues across the country, the Rocket Racing League will feature multiple races pitting up
to 10 Rocket Racers going head to head in a 4-lap, multiple elimination heat format on a 5-mile “Formula One”-like closed circuit raceway in the sky.

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

52 responses to “A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.

  • Indianapolis 500 Challenges Drivers and Inspires Automotive Excellence (Part 1) By Granger Whitelaw Cofounder, Rocket Racing League « Granger Whitelaw

    […] Whitelaw cofounded the Rocket Racing League. The organization oversees the competition for Rocket Racing, a sport that employs high-technology, […]

  • A Great Article on the Birth and Vision of the Rocket Racing League. « Granger Whitelaw

    […] Rocket Racing League of Las Cruces, N.M., combines the competition of air racing with rocketry. X-Prize founder Dr. […]

  • Heinz H Frentzen

    This seems like it would be very exciting to watch. More fun than Red Bull Air Racing I bet!

  • Francis Williams

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like this before. I’ve seen some air racing, and it’s hard to follow, this sounds like it would have been a very different sport to watch on tv/online, etc.

  • Alan Proste

    As a pilot, this is something I can really appreciate, and would have loved to see in person! I know it was at some airshows, but I missed them.

  • James Lauda

    I can only imagine how difficult and tedious that process must have been.

  • Gerard Burger

    This was the first one ever approved by the FAA, that deserves a plaque, and a listing in some record books.

  • Ted Fabio

    I could imagine the budgets for these weren’t so bad, a lot less things to wear out than on an Indycar.

  • free tv shows to download

    Hi there, I discovered your site by means of Google at the same time as looking for a related subject, your site got here up, it seems to be great. I’ve added to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  • kfz versicherung

    Excellent post, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand this. You must proceed your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & help other users like its helped me. Great job.

  • click here

    This blog site is pretty good! How did you make it ?

  • Anonymous

    Admirable column, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector figure out not understand this. You be obliged to proceed your copy. I’m sure of yourself, you’ve a abundant readers’ ignoble already!|What’s episode i am new to the job to this, I stumbled ahead this I’ve found It positively of use and it has aided me not at home tons. I’m hopeful to have a say & help other users like its helped me. Abundant chore.

  • Scott Emrich

    In the role of a pilot, this is something I can really go up in price, and would arrange loved to go out with in the field of person! I know it was by the side of particular airshows, but I missed them.

  • Craig D. Mack

    Oh MAY – and that means racing! I think this is my very favorite month of the year.

  • George Megan

    This kind of air show is totally different from others and the exhibitions will not be the same to other air shows. I want to see this one personally and I think this will be full of excitement and thrill.

  • Gary Cliff

    I think to have a Certificate from FAA Permits Rocket Powered Aircraft flights at over 20 venues in US is not an ordinary exhibition and the exhibition is much safer. Keep going Rocket Racing League!

  • Roy Harrison

    I like exhibitions and everybody loves exhibition. This one looks good and I agree on the 3rd comment, pilots would surely enjoy watching this one and they can always feel the emotions of their co pilots.

  • Mary Mane

    I like exhibitions and it’s so cool to watch air exhibitions. I remember when I was a child and wanted to drive planes. I hope to see this one someday.

  • Vincent Shell

    I want to ask how is this constructed or how is this made or how is this possible “5-mile “Formula One”-like closed circuit raceway in the sky”, because I can’t really imagine how it will work since it’s on the sky. I want to see it because I think it will be amazing since it is on the sky, a track on the sky is very new to me.

  • Marvin Hynes

    I thank the Rocket Racing League Chief Executive Officer Granger Whitelaw and also happened to be the author of these blogs on this site, for giving such great happiness and race of full enjoyment to the pilots and also to the people that always watching the league. This is a great idea since many love racing, including me.

  • John Mole

    Rocket Racing League is really something and really a great league or racing for entertaining viewers and people to earn Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA. I love watching exhibitions and it really makes me feel happy and it tries to make me imagine some things in the world that I can’t do but I can imagine. Nice blog thanks for sharing.

  • Lindel Josh

    FAA | Aero-News Network is a good and really reliable so to have that one is really a cool news to us fans of Rocket Racing League. I hope I have seen the exhibition, I’m near to it so I’m having problem seeing it on person but anyway I hope it will be conducted again soon around near places to it so that more people will appreciate it. I like reading articles and news about Rocket Racing League and I hope they will still handle more racing events in the future.

  • Harry Dewer

    This one should be quoted since this is totally outstanding “This exhibition type certification marks the first time in the FAA’s history”, congratulations to the Rocket Racing League for having such great achievement and also the history includes the “production level rocket powered aircraft has been cleared to perform exhibition flight demonstrations at over 20 venues across the US”, I mean that is really remarkable and though I am not very experienced about it, in my point of view that is really a great effort to achieve something like that.

  • Vince Stuart

    Rocket Racing is cool and amazing, no doubt to that but I am realy curious on “lap” of it. I can not imagine what will be the image or the formation of the lap. I have read on other article that it has a lap that is the same type on formula one racing, so I then imagined it but then the problem is of course the lap will be on the sky, so how will it happen or how will they made it. I am confused if they really mean it literally or maybe just using words and not exactly the same. But if that will happen that there is really a lap that can be seen and literally the same with formula one then it will really be brilliant.

  • Mel Shawn

    I literally like this article “A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.”, exhibitions is a very good thing to watch especially air shows. The exhibition that is not that big is magic cards exhibition and I like it seeing the magic card exhibition and I’m always amazed to it. To have a certificate for exhibition is a good thing for rocket racing league though I know the acts and tricks of rocket racing league is kind of more dangerous since it’s on the air.

  • Ford Gorl

    I like the title “A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.”. Experimental exhibition certificate from FAA is not that easy to get so I say Congratulations to rocket racing league and a very well done. I would like to see soon how the rocket racing league would actually organize the race and also I am very curious and very particular on the rules that will be implemented.

  • Howard

    I like this ,”The DKNY Bridenstine Rocket Racer vehicle, built on a Velocity Aircraft airframe and equipped with liquid oxygen (LOX) & alcohol engines manufactured by Armadillo Aerospace”, so this was used and I think this is really suitable for a test flight. I envy those people who have seen this test flight because it is really a must see. I’m looking forward to the actual race and I know they are now highly preparing for it.

  • William Smith

    Such a cool article for “A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.”, I believe in FAA since they are really have the authority to give permission. It’s a good and great that they have given the rocket racing league the permission since many are really waiting for it. I want to see the experimental flights but I guess it is already done so all I want now is the future.

  • Bryan Nides

    I hope one of the venues will be near to my place or if possible exactly to my place “The league plans to work with show, airport and local FAA authorities to select 8 venues from the more than 20 that
    have been approved by the FAA.”, I am wondering what will happen if it will be held in my place I guess many will be totally amazed and I think it will be fun and I am excited to it right now. I hope venues will be posted as soon as it is planned official because many will be waiting for it. I will wait for it and I hope it will be good.

  • Lucille Joy

    I’m glad the league have received this kind of permission. This is a good part and indeed a very good thing for rocket racing league. This just proves that they deserve a big crowd and a many people who will watch their racing league or air show or what they call it. Permission is a thing that can be given easily and a thing that is really hard to get. I want to watch this and I feel safety with this reading this one that they have got the permission to take flights and I think the experimental flights went well. Congratulations to rocket racing league.

  • Rambo Lecious

    I think I have already seen this Armadillo “This historic moment was built upon the unprecedented cooperation between our company,
    Armadillo Aerospace, and the FAA.”, thanks to all the people that made this possible, passing the test for permission to take flights and to have an exhibition that is really breathe taking. As if I’m the owner of this site, but I really just want to say thank you because without them many won’t be experiencing this kind of excitement of mine to see such exhibitions on air.

  • Rondolph Gomend

    This reminds me of the entrance exam that I have take and passed on my University entrance exam “A look back at the RRL: Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA.”. It’s such a great feeling and experience to pass something that you would never thought you could and something that is very hard to get. I don’t know if the rocket racing league feel the same equally feeling that I felt at that time. Anyway I congratulate the rocket racing league for having the permission and certificate to operate as big as this.

  • Maria Mosala

    For all of the people around here who are confused what FAA stands for “The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the national aviation authority of the United States of America. An agency of the United States Department of Transportation, it has authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of civil aviation in the U.S. The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the organization under the name “Federal Aviation Agency”, and adopted its current name in 1966 when it became a part of the United States Department of Transportation.”

    -it is a pleasure to share some thoughts on the internet with you guys.

  • Stevenson

    This is what most of the fan or followers are waiting for this when they heard it is flying for testing “The League will now move forward with solidifying venues for its 2009 Exhibition season and be on course for
    the official race season in 2010”, even me I am waiting for this and it already happened. I think this is a great news for us and I hope with this the rocket racing league will still be more consistent with their improvements and I hope many will people will spread this so that many will know this kind of league.

  • Richard Richardson

    This rocket racing league looks fine and looks interesting. I like exhibitions and I think this is exhibition and I would like to watch this live. I have been watching many exhibitions and all of it are good and I like it. I hope this will be a great too. It’s good that they have the permission and the certificate to fly and make the event possible. I think it will be the start of the this rocket racing league to make a sound and noise to the people and also to spread their wings for the people who want to watch this.

  • Robert Conson

    I think this kind of event will be filled of so much fun and surprises. I will bring my child for this type of event because I want to show them that air shows are great and exhibitions within the air is just like a fireworks display. Anyway thanks for updating your blogs and articles to us and I’m really following it. I would like to hear and read another article next time.

  • Sionel

    Wow! I think I feel glad reading this part of the article “Tue, Oct 14, 2008 Rocket Racing League Earns Experimental Exhibition Certificate From FAA Permits Rocket Powered Aircraft Flights At Over 20
    Venues In US The Rocket Racing League has announced that it has been granted an Experimental Exhibition Certificate from the FAA”, It’s good that they have granted the permission and I think it is really nice that it has been confirmed already.

  • Cadson

    I bet this really flies very fast “The DKNY Bridenstine Rocket Racer vehicle, built on a Velocity Aircraft airframe and equipped with liquid
    oxygen (LOX) & alcohol engines manufactured by Armadillo Aerospace”, I wonder what type of engine are these aircrafts or planes that will fly on rocket racing league, is it a jet engine type?

  • Jamine

    It’s good that you pulled it here back and this is just a good tease and a good history that the rocket racing league had experienced and this certificate of the rocket racing league for a permission to operate on the league and flights is just like a stepping stone for ones dream and this made hope to the founder of rocker racing league surely.

  • Lea

    Wow! Many are being glad seeing such just like this news about rocket racing league. I can see here through comments that there are plenty of us who are fans and always following about rocket racing league.Thanks for sharing us this news and we will be keep on posted and we will try to always be updated. Have a nice day and thanks.

  • Catherine

    I like this one as reading the article “The DKNY Bridenstine Rocket Racer vehicle, built on a Velocity Aircraft airframe and equipped with liquid
    oxygen”, it’s good that they got and have their certificate and permission on flying and making a league that is some sort of a dangerous thing. I want to be a pilot on an airplane but this one will be much better because this is so fun.

  • Maria Scott

    It’s good to know this one “To be held at venues across the country, the Rocket Racing League will feature multiple races pitting up to 10 Rocket Racers”, I hope and how I wish the venue will be near to my place or my place will be added to venues ha ha ha lol :D. Anyway it’s good to know and see this certification.

  • Leoneil

    This is their experimental flight and I think this is a successful flight because the FAA gives them the certificate and the permission to operate. I like the idea and the thought of this kind of racing and I think it will grow and progress and develop in the future because as what I can see it is a promising kind of race and it lives in the way of future. The idea is pretty advance but I know the disadvantage of this is adopting the more risky situations.

  • moving companies Fort Worth tx

    I think the admin of this site is in fact working hard for his site, because here every material is quality based material.

Leave a Reply

