“60 – 60 in love”

by granger Whitelaw

 

It’s funny how some of the real truths of life pass from generation to generation, Grandfather to Grandson, Mother to child. One of these great truths was passed to me again yesterday from my Mother, I had forgot the last time she shared this with me, but this time it made a lot more sense.

 

In love – or better put – in marriage (relationships of any type really), it needs to be a 60/60 thing. In other words, you each need to put in 60% to make it work. Now we all know 60 + 60 = 120, so this is an unattainable number, but that is where it makes sense. Because it is “in the 10% overlap from each of you” that you will find peace and unity.

 

Having been married twice and in a few long relationships before and between, I gotta tell ya – this can work. Just think about it – it’s not 50/50… it’s 60/60. That means YOU need to make an extra 10% effort to take out the trash, or give her a break from the kids – let him stay out a bit later to have a meeting or just hang with his friends a bit. When she needs to talk, stop and listen and when he needs a hand – extend it to him.

 

Now I am not a relationship expert – geez – far from it. But I know when I think it’s 50/50 it seems easier to blame my partner, my lover or my wife. But when it’s 60/60 – I know I need to do a little more before I start pointing fingers or giving up.

 

 

Give that extra 10% – each of you – and I promise, it will add up to more than 120.

 

And thanks Mom (and Grandpa Bear who taught this to her) for sharing this truth with me. 

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

42 responses to ““60 – 60 in love”

  • Anonymous

    Oh can – and with the purpose of capital racing! I think this is my very favorite month of the day. It’s a racers Valhalla and it is plus the month my beautiful a small amount brother was born at the same time as well at the same time as my adorable Daugh

  • Steve Stevenson

    That’s great and I learned many things because of that. That means also that don’t give your all but give love more. I think that is a nice lesson that must be teach to any couple so that divorce cases will be lessen.

  • Ryan Hill

    It’s indeed right! As they say “having more is better than having less”, maybe it can be apply to that since love is a thing that needs to always be given. If you give more the problem on you and your partner will also get less.

  • James Jordan

    60 and 60 makes 120 and now I understand that it should be done so the 20% that is remaining balance all the unbalance things in relationship. Great advice and great blog.

  • Ryan Vick

    I’m listening to the song “This I promise you” by N’Sync while reading this blog and the lyrics really puts connection to 60-60 love. If only every couple in the world will love like that then the chaos of the world will be less.

  • Carl Simon

    Yeah! Indeed funny yet very meaningful thoughts and secrets of life. I don’t know how many secrets in life that we must learn but I know each of one of it is very meaningful. 60-60 love is just one of it and there’s a lot more of love that we must learn, I still don’t know right now what is it but I maybe in the future I will.

  • Marvin Hynes

    I totally agree with 60 to 60 love with your partner or love one and I like this line that I quoted above that the 10 percent excess of your love each is “That means YOU need to make an extra 10% effort to take out the trash”, and for me as I read I think it implies also that always give your partner a freedom.

  • Jerry Mendoza

    I know you are expert on racing, on any type of racing and you are experienced to it, in short you are not a relationship expert but I would say you a have a big point here, this 60-60 love that you are talking about is really really true and must always be implemented to each us so that we all have a good and healthy lovelife.

  • Clein

    60-60 love is just a rear thing that I heard or I would say the only thing that I heard on love advice that is very. Love is good sometimes and sometimes not and so I agree that even bad times you and your partner should always love each other and maybe the excess of your love will be use to that times, that bad times. I am sure that if your ideas will be read by others they will also learn a great thing of life that will will surely help. Anyway thank you for sharing this wonderful tip to life and to any relationship, to us.

  • Clein

    60-60 love is just a rear thing that I have heard or I would say the only thing that I have heard on love that is very unique. Love is good sometimes and sometimes not and so I agree that even in bad times you and your partner should always love each other and maybe the excess of your love will be use to that times, bad times. I am sure that if your ideas will be read by others they will also learn a great thing of life that will surely help. Anyway, thank you for sharing this wonderful tip to life and to any relationship to us.

  • David Moore

    Sometimes bigger and more are really helpful (well of course not all are good) and it is good to have more than nothing sometimes. Love will take care of itself if you and your partner will take care of each other also. Love is nothing without risks and risks are always involve in love so whenever you love you must always consider the risks to it and risking to it. There is something in love that can not be explained and even the people who experienced can not even also explained it. I hope many people in the world and if possible all people in the world will love one another and maybe that can be called as world peace.

  • Carlos Dominguez

    Love consumes much of your time and love is something that you didn’t think that it would go that way. Many have experience love and many are afraid to experience it, well I guess in my opinion they should not be afraid since love is made for us to be more complete living our life. Love is all about risking and risking some things just to prove love and though it is not necessary but it must always be remembered. I remember some of my friends have experienced that one and I can love is not always fun and love should always comes with patience.

  • Bill Moran

    Such cool and interesting article about love and also informative to all couples. I always tend to do things that I like even though my partner does not like it and I realized it was not a good thing to do. Love is not an easy game and in fact it’s not a game so be careful in loving someone and you must always take care of her and if you have problems always take with her. This 60-60 love thing is very helpful to many couples or partners out there and I hope in many people in the world, love will prevail.

  • Jimmy Jude

    60-60 love is a good idea for making a good relationship and a relationship that will have a good foundation. I agree with your ideas and tips to us and this is really a good advice not just for me but also to some people out there who have experience love or will experience love in the future. I think love should be accompanied by respect since love will not work alone by itself. I experience also some not good things about love and most of it are lack of respects. Anyway thanks for this post and I hope this will be read by many people and I hope they will be inspired.

  • Donk Berd

    Yes I would agree to the song that was sang by John Lennon “all you need is love”. Love is fun, love is a nice and magical creature of God. I think love is one though not sometimes but it is. I am good to know that despite you are very busy on many things like work and many things that involve in your life you have still time on sharing some good news to us and things that involve in your life. I am a fan of you and also to rocket racing league. I believe that all can be done with any person if they have God and also a heart that is full of love. Happy Valentine’s day to everyone, just kidding. Good day!

  • Goody Cordor

    I guess this is really so true. I experience some misunderstanding and also arguments into a relationship and it might be true and slightly true to say that it is because of the lack of love I guess. I may have not experience this one but I think there is nothing wrong with loving greater than the normal if just your partner will also love you equally. Love is something that can not be expected I guess it is better if both of the couple will love each other as what they want to be loved to themselves. Thanks for this.

  • Ken Mourl

    This article is 60-60 in love is one of the articles that I like on your list. I am a good man that really appreciates love in any angle even though some angles are not great but I think that is just a part of love. I understand that some people does not see it as what I see on love but I think this is just to what is it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about love to is and I really like reading it and I hope there will be many people that will read this one in the future.

  • Damsy Jones

    Oh I totally agree to the 8th commenter and I was always thinking that love is such a great and very important thing in life. Love is a great thing that everyone must experience. Love is not fair and that is love so we can’t really make that fair since that is what love is. I like reading your experiences about this topic and that is totally a good secret and though it is a secret I am glad you shared something very important to us. Regards, Damsy and I hope you will enjoy your life with so much love and more power to you.

  • Sam Dylle

    I literally laughed at this but at the same time I’m amazed “Now I am not a relationship expert – geez – far from it. But I know when I think it’s 50/50 it seems easier to blame my partner, my lover or my wife.”, that’s really true and things will be easier if you give more and I know not all but it’s just that some things are applicable to it. I am not a relationships expert also and not a consultant when it comes to love but I think nothing will be more better if both of you will give more because if you will do that you are proving to your partner that you are ready for whatever it takes because he loves you.

  • Rody Hemson

    Love is such a thing that is very mysterious and very extraordinary. I really learn a lot reading your entire article and I guess that is really true to say that is some sort of secret that must not be keep as secret because many people need that. I always dream that many people will experience love in a good thing and I still believe that it will happen of course. Anyway thanks for you and for this article.

  • Mary Jane

    I so love this paragraph that I have read within this blog “In love – or better put – in marriage (relationships of any type really), it needs to be a 60/60 thing. In other words, you each need to put in 60% to make it work.”, this is the heart and the fruit of the topic of the blog or article. I really like couples who love each other, loving each other that as if tomorrow never comes. Love is a sweet thing if treated as sweet. I hope you and your family will taste love as sweet always as it is the best of life that must be experience. Love is good and must always be used and me myself now is thankful that I have read this since I learned a lot of this.

  • joice

    6 things to keep in mind…

    1st-make peace with you the past so it wont screw up the present
    2nd- what other people think of you is none of your business
    3rd- time heals all wounds
    4th- no one is in charge of your happiness except you
    5th- don’t compare your life to that of others and don’t judge them you have no idea what their journey is all about.

    and lastly
    6th- SMILE, you don’t own all the problems in the world

    give your heart a break, free your mind of worries. love! live! enjoy!

  • Saldy Reo

    I remember this doing to my partner long time ago “That means YOU need to make an extra 10% effort to take out the trash, or give her a break from the kids – let him stay out a bit later to have a meeting or just hang with his friends a bit.”, it’s really something if you will make an effort and at all times don’t make a thing that you know you will regret in the future. Regrets comes last and if that happens you can’t easily take it back and worst it’s impossible to get it back.

  • Bingo Yield

    I just copied a definition and an opinion about love and this is random “I really don’t know the definition of love because no one has ever showed me what love really is. They say it is felt, when I embrace my lover, when I hold her palms. They say it is to be heard, in the rustle of the leaves, in the cool breeze, in the words of the special person in my life.”, I don’t know what will you think and say to this one but I guess love is just a thing that can’t be explained and I will just leave it to that.

  • sandy :)

    You know what? You’re such a great person, who would have though you’re not just a good racer, but also a lover. 60 -60 in love i a very nice idea in making your relationship work in to a happy, harmonious life. This 60-60 in love article is my favorite article of yours. I hope you will post more about love articles and I’m hoping for this to come. Just keep up the work!

  • sandy :)

    You know what? You’re such a great person, who would have though you’re not just a good racer, but also a lover. 60 -60 in love i a very nice idea in making your relationship work in to a happy, harmonious life. This 60-60 in love article is my favorite article of yours. I hope you will post more about love articles and I’m hoping for this to come. Just keep up the work!

  • Jason Denson

    Love is such a sweet thing and love is a mysterious thing also. Love is a thing that can’t be expected and also can’t be predicted. I have been in many places and I’m glad many have shared and spread their love. Love is a great thing and I hope still many people will experience it. I hope everyone will be showered in love because I believe if that will happen, less chaos will be created and also less undesirable things will happen. If love will always prevail then our world will be very gloomy.

  • Fredy

    Your Mother is a very kind woman and I know that you are two. It’s a good thing of you sharing this kind of encouragement to others especially to couples who can read this article and I really like this part of your article and I will quote this one “One of these great truths was passed to me again yesterday from my Mother, I had forgot the last time she shared this with me, but this time it made a lot more sense.”.

  • Cindy James

    Love is very mysterious and it’s a thing that can’t be explained and I have here a quote of love that is sad and I’m not the one who made this and I found this on the internet.

    When I first saw you I was afraid to meet you.
    When I met you I was afraid to like you.
    When I liked you I was afraid to kiss you.
    When I kissed you I was afraid to love you.
    Now that I love you I’m afraid to lose you!

  • Roger

    Love is just like a song with the lyrics “For the first time, I’ve been looking in your eyes”, I don’t know what is the title but it’s true that love is only for the first time because some of the people treat their partners as “taken for granted”. I don’t know what to say but I have experience loving someone does not love me equally and she does not even care what will I feel if she will make decisions or things that I don’t like. She does not hesitate to do things that she likes even though I don’t like it.

  • Gloomy

    You put trust on your followers by saying this on the above article of yours “Having been married twice and in a few long relationships before and between, I gotta tell ya – this can work.”, you are really have experienced in relationship and to think that you are a good strategist on business, it is something that you have learned new, love is indeed unpredictable and really mysterious.

  • Martina

    They say, all is fair in love and war and I think I would really agree to that and this article of yours is good to be read since many hints in life can be get here and can be used. Anyway I understand that you are not a relationship expert or love expert or a love doctor but I like how you share your thoughts and ideas to us about love.

  • Damien

    It’s still not February but I think in this article love is in the air. I think I have to say something here about love. Love is quite a silent thing yet very dangerous. Many have suffered its blade and many have been hurt but of course some of people experience love in the different way. It’s to love someone and it’s better if that someone loves you and there can be no more perfect than that.

  • Roger Morgan

    Ha ha ha I think I feel the article is within me as I am listening to the song “Just a love song” right now and I think I am loving the song. Anyway I think this is a bug haha this is some kind of cheat code or something in life but not really the cheat that is bad. This is totally something that will surely help the couples in the world. Thanks for sharing it to us and I like it.

  • Hendril

    I remember something after reading this one “One of these great truths was passed to me again yesterday from my Mother, I had forgot the last time she shared this with me”, our Mothers and elders really have gain much wisdom in their lives and it’s a good thing how they pass to us those things that they have learned and I think it’s like our advantage or our nitro in life or just a special power that we can use in life and it sounds unfair for everyone.

  • Kyle Mark

    So this is the main point of this article “Now we all know 60 + 60 = 120, so this is an unattainable number, but that is where it makes sense”, I like the lesson that it teaches to the followers of this article though I just got there when I searched in google about love and tips on love. Anyway I’m glad I came here and I think I did a good job for learning this one. I have been in relationship before and I can really say and see that this is true.

  • Brother Dem

    It is so funny how you can suddenly relate and can understand thoroughly an article about love. I think I feel this way because it is just it is now the 3rd day after February 15 or Valentine’s day. You know in valentine’s day everyone suddenly becomes romantic and everyone feels the love in their heart and body and I think that is just a simple magic that the Valentine’s day always have.

Leave a Reply

