Indy 500 is May to me

Oh MAY – and that means racing! I think this is my very favorite month of the year. It’s a racers Valhalla and it is also the month my beautiful little brother was born as well as my adorable Daughter.

May starts with the Derby – the Kentucky Derby to be exact if you are not familiar with it. Big hats, Mint Juleps and the finest breed of racing horses on the planet competing for the gold trophy that is 22 inches tall, has a 14-karat gold horse and rider atop it and horseshoe-shaped wreath handles and stands on a jade base, along with this comes a Garland of Roses. The twin spires on the homestretch and the beautiful architecture are a feast for the eye in what is know as “The greatest two minutes in sports”. I have never owned a race horse or competed at the Derby, but I have this funny feeling that someday I will – and my guess is one of my siblings will be along side championing the effort!

May finsihes with the Indy 500 – or – “The greatest spectacle in racing” and trust me… it is.

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

37 responses to “Indy 500 is May to me

  • Anonymous

    Oh MAY – and that means racing! I think this is my very favorite month of the year. It’s a racers Valhalla and it is also the month my beautiful little brother was born as well as my adorable Daugh

  • Scott Emrich

    I catch a glimpse of you’ve been involved in the field of many companies, I beg your pardon? Haven’t you done

  • Edward L. Fagan

    Oh possibly will – and with the aim of instrument racing! I think this is my very favorite month of the time.

  • Kaila Mendel

    I certainly agree with you that the Indy 500 is “The greatest spectacle in racing” and everybody love that part of racing. It’s full of excitement watching it, great racing.

  • Steve Media

    ““The greatest two minutes in sports”” I like this line! I quoted the quoted line ha ha lol. I am a fan of racing and I like reading blogs of racing like this one. Sounds cool and interesting.

  • Jemy Miller

    At first, I thought Kentucky Derby is a derby for fighting cocks or roosters ha ha lol. So it means it’s a racing for horses and I think it is a great race since racing a horse is a very well known race in the world. Many put bets on the horse that they like and then hoping to have a win over their competitor. I like horse racing and it’s nice to watch.

  • Joseph Lumen

    Indy 500 is may to me and I think to most of my friends May is Indy 500 for them or vise versa. I like Indy 500 and I watched the video nineteen ninety Indy 500 race and it was really awesome. The track is kind of smooth and cool, I can’t remember on where was it taken but the race was really awesome, that’s all I can say to that video.

  • Vic Mercado

    Indy 500 is really awesome, it is a good and great way in making your time enjoyable by just watching it. The cars really has the speed of really unimaginable. I wish could experience driving even just one of those type of cars, those cars are really expensive and needs a lot of maintenance, so maybe even just one day I want to try driving it.

  • Vinson Josh

    Wow! That’s cool but the problem is how can I try that? and how much will it cost me for me have that kind of experience? I mean I really would like to experience that too. Since I was a child I really would love to try even once just like the above comment do.

  • Josh Janel

    May is such a beautiful month to us and to all of the racers out there or to any country that racing is always being conducted at MAY. Racing is just so relaxing and very filled with so much enjoyness, especially to all the racers that is having a thirst on winning the prize, reward or fame. Someday I want to own a race horse and then compete on any horse race competition nearby. I always want to ride horse and then drive as how cowboys do, I mean cowboys are really cool in movies especially when they ride their horses smoothly.

  • Josh Ferd

    Wow! That is so cool of you. I heard you are a good racer and a good racer that really loves racing so much but anyway as I read some of your article, I have read there that you are the founder of the Rocket Racing League and that is really something, I bet you have some followers since Rocket Racing League is really big. You still have lots of time in entertaining yourself and that’s great, Time management is really not a simple task especially when you are in task to handle many things and you really think sometimes that the 24 hours a day is just enough, I can relate to it sometimes.

  • Jack Clack

    The one that has been quoted above ““The greatest two minutes in sports””, is really the greatest of racing sports and even though it is just 120 seconds it still very long for the racer and even on the people watching to it. It is also breathe taking since each of the people has its bet and each bet is really a big thing. Horse Racing is a very well known race since horses are almost around the world and also they are undeniably fast and really near to the heart of the people.

  • Gab Jason

    Such a cool day for racers everyday and also a cool month for every month. Indy 500 is also the best event for every may and I like seeing it in may also because of the good climate. Racing is such a beautiful art and really a great views for racers and for all the people who love racing. I love seeing such event because of the crowd, crowd that is really noisy and you can really feel their enjoyment within the race. Sometimes it’s better to enjoy things to others than to yourself only.

  • Finny Mark

    Indy 500 is also may to me, we are both have the same love for racing and formula one racing. Every men almost, love racing and since I think it is the sports for men. Indy 500 is just plain good with entertaining the crowd with their great speed and also great endurance and courage of every racer. Thanks for sharing your blog to us and I really enjoyed reading all of it. I like Rocket Racing League of yours and I think it is a great idea. I hope to seeing it on internet someday and I hope it can go global.

  • Judy Bert

    I like it that Indy 500 is may to you and also to may to some of the countries. I like Indy 500 since it is a good sport and a good type of race. I will look forward on seeing you race on a derby ha ha LOL. I also want to participate on a derby or a horse race and I think it would be fun, I have seen some cowboy movies and those are really good since the cowboys really drove their horses very well and fast. I like reading some articles and some blogs about racing because racing is filled with so much competition on its own. I’m glad I read this one and thank you for sharing.

  • Ferdinand

    Indy 500 is good at May and I think many racer would understand it. Indy 500 is a good sport just like my other favorite sports just like football. Football that came from Europe and obviously not the American football because there is a big difference between the two sports. I like football just like this one because it involves with so much crowd and also just like this one is full of excitement and fun. Anyway thanks for sharing your different blogs and articles to us and so far I literally like reading to it. More power, regards, Ferdinand.

  • Eric

    May is such a nice month for participating race events. Anyway I am also a fan of track and field races and all types of racers of course. Racing is such a nice sport since it involves so much pressure and also one of the dangerous sports. I am participating some marathons and yeah that is not a manly race for some but I think it’s good and I am thinking now to maybe participate on some big racing events just like motorcycle races, racing through the forest with the hills and muds. I think that will be a great sports and I think I will take a shot to it.

  • Ron Stephen

    As what I have read and searched in Wikipedia and I found this “The Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, also known as the Indianapolis 500, the 500 Miles at Indianapolis, the Indy 500 or The 500, is held annually over the Memorial Day weekend, the last full weekend in May, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana.”, Indy 500 is really great though I know it’s not in my country but still it is such a great idea of race. Thanks for sharing to it and I really did put some time to search and maybe learn from it since Indy 500 is new to me.

  • Ronnie

    How lucky to experience participating on Indy 500. It’s my dream to be a racer someday and I know it is an expensive dream but who knows maybe I will get it and I can get it someday, I’m 15 years old right now and I still have the courage. My parents bought me car but of course just the usual one and sometimes I really want to hold the stirring wheel of the actual racing car because it is really different and only selected people will have the chance to experience it. Anyway, I like your article, great stuff.

  • Roger Gerald

    I totally agree with this one “The twin spires on the homestretch and the beautiful architecture are a feast for the eye in what is know as “The greatest two minutes in sports””, I am a person that witnessed many racing events on my life and car races are really the best and the greatest two minutes in sports that is mentioned above is also the fastest two minutes in sports.

  • Rhea Haslem

    Oh I love may! Not because of racing but because of the season in my country when we experience may. I like how the leaves flies in the air and the weather is really beautiful. I like going at beaches and making some food trips and also picnics with friends or family. I take a lot of enjoyment in life since I think life is really short and we should enjoy every bit of it. It’s also you that you want to enjoy life through racing and I think you have good ways and also good things in racing that you love, keep it up.

  • Rodom Sala

    Very well said ! Racing means may and may means racing ha ha lol but seriously racing means fun and a lot of enjoyment. I have seen many races all kinds of races and you can really say that it is a sport for men. Bravery, strength and speed is a lot more been exposed by any racer in the world and in order to have that kind of skills you must really practice and practice and practice and practice and practice and practice and practice ha ha because as what saying says and I think it goes like this “try and try until you succeed”.

  • Ferardo Mansin

    Indy 500 is a race and race is such a beautiful twist of nature. Men even in their first creation to this world they had started and won already on a race and I think that is a man’s nature and that is to race and race and race and maybe that is why men love racing. As all of you can see and observe almost all of the racers are men and they are all really competitive. Race is such a sport that involves bravery and determination.

  • nica

    how did it happen that racing game always starts in may? But though I’m confused, I hope to all the racers month of may will be your luckiest month of the year. since month of may is known as the month of mary, so that means month may is a very lucky month. I certainly agree that the Indy 500 is “The greatest spectacle in racing” and everybody love that part of racing especially for those who love racing.

  • Danny Miguel

    “The Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, also known as the Indianapolis 500, the 500 Miles at Indianapolis, the Indy 500 or The 500, is held annually over the Memorial Day weekend, the last full weekend in May, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana”, this is what Indy 500 is. I think this is a great sport racing and I think I would like to try this one. Racing is such an exciting sport and not a single man can resist racing. I think men all of the world love racing.

  • Blonde

    Indy 500 is a good racing sports and it is comparable to formula one racing. I will not compare the two because I am both fan of the two racing sports but anyway may is a good mood for indy 500 because it’s the best season of the year on the country and that is my opinion to that. I like how many people love seeing the indy 500 including women and children, it’s nice seeing families that share time with each other watching race sports.

  • Jane Season

    I know it’s a great feeling to drive a car and race on a race track and your competitors and co-racers are very fast and very good in driving, I know it is a nice feeling and I want to try it even just once. Racing on a large crowd is really very great honor and feeling the emotions of the audience is really one of a kind feeling. Anyway I see you are a fan of Indy 500 and my opinion is I think it is a good race sport and I think it is from one of the state so it is really nice.

  • Roger

    I guess May is such a quite beautiful month and everybody love May not just because of the Indy 500 but to some things May are good at but now it’s December and the season is new but still it’s good since December is a good month also and December has Christmas. Everybody is now waiting for Christmas and excited for Christmas and I am one of them. Thanks for letting me comment here and I just want to say Advance Merry Christmas to all of you.

  • Daniel

    Aside February, May is a love month for me since in my country May is summer and we have summer vacation and it’s really nice to go have a trip, have a picnic, doing things that you like with your friends, spending time together with your friends and family and forget school for a moment because it’s a time for resting, playing, relaxing and making our life playable. Thanks for sharing your article to us and I would like to say have a nice day to everyone of you here. Great comments!

  • Jezel

    I was once too thought of this “I have never owned a race horse or competed at the Derby, but I have this funny feeling”, I really like to race in a horseback riding and I know it will be fun and it’s really a very interesting activity. Anyway, you too are a racer and though I am not a racer I can relate to you because I love racing too.

  • Carl

    I like this line of yours in the article “May finsihes with the Indy 500 – or – “The greatest spectacle in racing” and trust me… it is.”, compared to other paragraphs in the article. I believe it is the greatest also and what is so nice about racing is that you can’t always predict what will happen because each companies and racers involve on the game is always updating their cars and their racers in the new technology that might help them to win such race.

  • Inigo

    I want to see this Kentucky Derby ” Kentucky Derby to be exact if you are not familiar with it”, I like horse and I like horse racing and competiting each other of course with their owners riding on their back.I wonder which country has the finest and strongest breed of horse and it will be really helpful if someone will study about that because everyone is always searching where will be the fastest horse be found.

  • Julius

    Of course we trust you with this “May finsihes with the Indy 500 – or – “The greatest spectacle in racing” and trust me… it is.”, Indy 500 makes the month of May very warm and really gloomy. I think it’s one of my favorite months of the year and I think May has a good image everyone and I think if May is a color it would be pink because that’s the best that it can be compared to.

  • Jordan

    Such a nice and cute line in racing “The twin spires on the homestretch and the beautiful architecture are a feast for the eye “, it is best if it is being subtitled on commercial with the race. It’s been many years since I watched racing in my country I guess I am just too busy on my work, maybe next time I will catch up and luckily watch with my friends.

  • Moon John

    Is Indy 500 some sort of local racing? I think it is, correct me if I am wrong but that is what I have heard. Anyway I have heard also some good races about it though I am not so familiar with it because I don’t live in the particular place where Indy 500 is there (I think it is at Indiana). I want to visit the place someday and see the race if it is still available at that time or the race will still operate.

Leave a Reply

