Granger Whitelaw and my love of Formula One.

Formula One racing in the late nineteen sixties and early nineteen seventies was a time of technical innovation, commercialization, and also one of the most dangerous times to be a racing driver. Colin Chapman’s Lotus racing team was at a leader in all three of those categories. Colin Chapman, a brilliant engineer, and fierce competitor was always searching for the newest innovation that would give him an edge over his competition. Having lead the evolution from the front-engine layout that was the standard since the first race car was built, to the rear engine layout was revolutionary, and would change motor racing. The ultimate show of the power of his vision was taking a modified rear engine Lotus F1 car to Indy to compete on the massive oval against the purpose built front engine roadsters in 1963. Their performance at Indy with their rookie Formula One drivers was nothing short of amazing, especially consider neither team, nor driver had every turned a lap on an oval race track. Previous to the Indy 500 debut of Jim Clark and Graham Hill, Formula One was a little known curiosity to American fans of car racing. Lotus’ five year stint at Indy while running full Formula One schedules was unprecedented, even the mighty Ferrari Formula one team would never attempt this. It would be another several years before another formula one team attempted to run a car of their own design in the Indy 500.

Colin Chapman’s eagle eye for talent is legendary and almost without rival. His drivers have included world champions: Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Nigel Mansell, Ayrton  Senna their first competitive rides in formula one. Colin Chapman introduced the first commercial sponsor into formula one, running the iconic Gold Leaf colors in 1969 with the only posthumous world champion, Austrian Jochen Rindt, an iconoclast, and as unique a character as Colin Chapman. This first commercial sponsorship of a formula one team was as revolutionary as moving the engine to the rear. No longer solely relying on prize money to fund the teams, commercialization led to larger more professionally organized teams. Even with the new money, Formula one was still a far less formal operation than it is today. Without television commitments dictating precise schedules, formula one races had start times that were often based off of factors such as, who was the most hungover, or a particularly competitive poker game.  

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

39 responses to “Granger Whitelaw and my love of Formula One.

  • Shakey Summer

    Colin Chapman is really a legend in formula one. Your love for formula one is totally dedicated and I would say that is the heart of any racer. I also want to become a formula one race but it’s almost impossible to me since big money will be involve on that sport but anyway keep up the spirit of racing.

  • Jenny Gourd

    I wonder why it is more dangerous for racing drivers to drive at late nineteen sixties and early nineteen seventies? That is true, in order to win you must always have an edge over your opponents.

  • Cindy Mine

    To race without rival is just plain legendary and really amazing. The engineer is really the most important than the racer and the engineer really analyzes all the plans.

  • April Joy

    I wonder how much is the prize money for the champion for the race. I think it is very dangerous to join on this kind of race since the speed should be really fast, though it is nice to watch.

  • Van Ronaldo

    Cool blog and history for formula one racing. Thanks for sharing your knowledge of the history of formula one racing, I did enjoy reading this blog and quite informative to a reader’s view. I like formula one racing since it is very known to almost all of the country around the world. The cars look so cool and I want drive one lol.

  • Bogard Meril

    I totally agree and amazed with this line that I quoted on the above article, “Lotus racing team was at a leader in all three of those categories”. It is such a very skilful thing to do and needs a lot of efforts and really nice strategic plans to achieve things like that. I wonder if the team is still racing for championships since many years had passed already.

  • Ricardo Barbosa

    This line that I quoted “eagle eye for talent is legendary and almost without rival” is really deserving for Colin Chapman and I can still remember his great racers Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Nigel Mansell and Ayrton Senna on their great win on their races. They really did a great job and a great effort to win those races i

  • Janice Moran

    You are not alone bro, many of us really love formula one, we men understand what we feel on each other on formula one racing even though we haven’t tried yet racing on the real race track (except you since you are really a real racer). I love reading such blogs that involve racing because it is fun to read and I don’t know why.

  • Fel Grant

    I think every racer in formula one really living a good life even before they haven’t entered the world of formula one yet. I think every racer on formula one is not aftering money but I think what they want is the history and that is the history that once on their life they have won the greatest racing event of the world for them. To win on a thing that you didn’t expect on winning is a super nice feeling and most of it can be considered as once in a lifetime experience though if we combined them all of course it is really more than one but the point is the great feeling that you will exprience that can’t be bought on any shop or mall or any vendor on the world.

  • Jason Mondala

    You love formula one so good and I love music that good also. Music is really relaxing and I would guess Formula One racing is also relaxing to you. Music makes our words be spoken since sometimes we choose to be quiet to some things that really can not be explained. Music interprets our emotions and to some of the things that we want to say but we can’t because we don’t know how and we are afraid. I love listening to songs and to songs that has good melody since it is very warming and good to the ear and to the heart and mind. I love music as much as you love the formula one. Keep up the good work in racing.

  • Randy Greg

    I am not used to sports and to racing but I believe that you really love Formula one racing and I know you love any racing. I’m not much into sports physically but I love watching sports especially football, men on football are really fast and really physically fitted and on every kick towards the goal is also the shouts of every people, of course many wants the ball to get in and some don’t, well if on the defense team. Anyway Racing and Sports are good things to be watched so I’m looking forward to any racing or any sports

  • Donald Smith

    I literally like the title of this blog and I totally can relate to the title but not in formula one racing in particular. I like football and the formula one racing looks good tome and also the crowd of formula one is really amazing just like the crowd of a football match. The thrill also won’t stop in formula one just like in football and you can never expect on winning your bet team since many players are competitive and always aiming for the win. I want to see this one someday on a natural field and see the good view of racing.

  • William

    Colin Chapman is indeed brilliant and genius with this “The ultimate show of the power of his vision was taking a modified rear engine Lotus F1 car to Indy to compete on the massive oval against the purpose built front engine roadsters in 1963.”, I think it was kind of risk but still he have managed it well and truly it is outstanding that risking while believing in your skill is really something that is a more of great courage.

  • Randy

    I love my formula one racing too and it’s a good sport that everyone like. Thanks for sharing your article and blog and I quite enjoyed reading this. Every friend of mind wants to drive a formula one racing car and drive on a championship event and also not to mention it’s my dream. Me and my friends have good things in common about formula one racing. Formula one racing is a good sport and more power to you.

  • Gary

    Wow! You really love formula one racing and that is a nice thing. I love too basketball and it is a good sports and I think we have in common as I observed on this blog, we both love sports though basketball is not particularly racing. Anyway, though I am not much of a fan of racing events or racing games specifically, I still want to witness this in a big crowd and on actual view. Thanks for sharing and I am looking forward to this sport or racing event or racing league.

  • Ralph Snider

    I read this article of yours and I can see the history of formula one racing with your love on it. You are truly a racer and also a good man. I see you are involving on so many things including business and I wonder how you handle your time and also I am wondering what will be your next activities or events. Anyway, I am looking forward to what you will do next and it’s a good thing I read this article. Thanks, Ralph.

  • Ralph Snider

    I read this article of yours and I can see the history of formula one racing with your love on it. You are truly a racer and also a good man. I see you are involving on so many things including business and I wonder how you handle your time and also I am wondering what will be your next activities or events. Anyway, I am looking forward to what you will do next and it’s a good thing I read this article. Thanks, Ralph..

  • Daniel

    I see that you are really into a race and formula one racing in specific. I am also a man who loves formula one racing. Someday I want to drive a formula one racing car. Formula one racing cars are really great especially those cars that are colored red. When I was a kid I bought cars and I mean toy cars and I say that is really cool, though I know driving them in real is just so amazing but right now since I don’t have much money to it I think I will just stick to toys.

  • Dennis Glance

    I agree with this “Formula One racing in the late nineteen sixties and early nineteen seventies was a time of technical innovation, commercialization, and also one of the most dangerous times to be a racing driver.”, and yeah it is really true that it is the most dangerous times to be a racing a driver because compared now there are already some things and devices or machines that has been discovered to promote safety and that is the innovation of technology. Though it’s the most dangerous times it’s also the best time of racing.

  • Ian Lousie

    Before reading this article I already have knew that you love racing and that’s formula one racing in particular. I heard you are also interested on Indy 500, I am also a fan of but don’t get me wrong the two are both good to me and for me I don’t see a difference, I mean both are good and both are great to be participated. I’m glad I read some of your blogs and I am hoping for a great improvement of rocket racing league. This is Ian Lousie and thanks to this one, regards.

  • Diana Furmentos

    I love formula one too and maybe I can call it as the same. I am a lady but still I think this is a good sports and race, though I am not a racer I still like this and I really like watching it in an actual course and track. I know how to drive cars of course but not this type of cars, this formula one racing cars I think is very different from the ordinary cars and commercialized cars and also the speed of this formula one racing cars I think is not allowed in a national highway.

  • Romeo Jose

    Imagine this one “Their performance at Indy with their rookie Formula One drivers was nothing short of amazing, especially consider neither team, nor driver had every turned a lap on an oval race track.”, even though it is not their specialty they still manage to show an amazing performance. That’s the great thing about racing, all your ideas will be use and you can’t always expect on happenings and I guess it’s right to say that always expect the unexpected.

  • Suman Ferardo

    I have witness this love formula one of yours and I have seen it has evolved into a great thing and as far as I know you have made a league and if I’m not mistaken it is the what they call the rocket racing league and I think this one is really a big race for racers or pilots and I still don’t know what to call them but I think as for now pilots is best suited. I know that you are preparing for it right now and I hope a good result will come to this one because many are waiting and really eager to see even just a glimpse of idea what will be this one look like.

  • Vany Blome

    So this is the meaning or definition or a brief description on what formula one is “Formula One, also known as Formula 1 or F1 and referred to officially as the FIA Formula One World Championship,[2] is the highest class of single-seater auto racing sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA).”. I am not an expert on formula one racing so I post this paragraph and I would like to have someone who will confirm this one.

  • Danny Miguel

    I love formula one racing also but you have more passion than me. You really did well on your passion and I think that is a great achievement for an individual in our world. Thanks for sharing this article to us and I like reading it. I hope formula one racing will still be a number one racing competition in the world and I hope they will be keep renowned to others. I would like to drive a formula one racing car someday, and if that happens it will be a great achievement.

  • Josh

    It is nice to see sometimes some good post about racing and especially about formula one racing. Many love formula one racing including me just like basketball. Many men love basketball and I want to promote basketball here since I know most of the people who visit this article are men. I hope many will like basketball and I hope it will be good to all of you.

  • Joseph

    Now let me show you all here who is Colin Chapman and I found this one at wiki and please take a look all of you. “Anthony Colin Bruce Chapman CBE (19 May 1928[1] – 16 December 1982) was an influential English design engineer, inventor, and builder in the automotive industry, and founder of Lotus Cars.”.

  • Sandra

    Oh you love racing so much and I think that’s a good thing. I have witnessed your style and your goals since then and also I have seen your experiences and also your education information and I think you are a brilliant man. Anyway as much as you love racing I also love watching television, have you heard or are you familiar with big bang theory? I mean that is a great television sitcom and it’s a must to be watch because it’s funny and really good, I hope you can watch it too.

  • Susana

    You love racing and I love drawing and I think that’s something we have in common. I love art and art is something that I can express all my feelings and emotions that I can’t literally say to someone. I am familiar with racing and formula one racing but not very deep into it . All I know is that it’s a race of fast cars and fast driving drivers in the world and even in my drawing I also like drawing cars and also formula one racing cars, they look beautiful and good designed cars.

  • Jezel

    I can see here your love for formula one is great and I totally can relate to you with that since I like something too but not formula one racing in particular but it is too a habit and a sport that I like. If we love an activity we really want to study it hard and then make a study of physical performance of our body.

  • Stefan

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your love for formula one racing to us and I read all the content of the article and moving the engine to the rare side is a very break through one since the idea is very risky and you can’t really predict and expect 100% of it on what will happen by doing it but of course you have theory but you can not fully give your all trust to it since there will be other things that might happen.

  • Barbara Hernandez

    Your love for formula one racing and the knowledge that you know about the history of the formula one racing is written very well. You shared it to us without a doubt and that is what sociality is all about. This is what makes the blogging good, the sharing of ideas is good and thoughts about something in common is great.

  • Jack Merason

    Colin Chapman is the main man of your article on your love of formula one racing, I think he is a good man and a very skilled and a genius man in racing. There are only rare selected people on the industry of formula one racing or any racing that is much capable on having a genius mind for any race. I think I might have to say I will search him after commenting on this one. Anyway have a good day everyone and thanks for this article, great job!

  • Berndo

    Indeed so true “Formula One racing in the late nineteen sixties and early nineteen seventies was a time of technical innovation, commercialization”, and as I read also that it is the most dangerous time to drive. In my own perspective and opinion it is really true since the technology is not that yet developed by that time compared to now and it’s really good now since many things can be calculated more accurate and also the factor of safety is being calculated more accurate.

  • Carol

    Your love for formula one is simply amazing and I like your history here about Formula One Racing though it is more focused on Colin Chapman but I can’t blame you Colin Chapman really made a great influence and made things that are incredible in racing and formula one racing. It’s hard to have a man like Colin Chapman nowadays and some racers and fans considered him as a legend in formula one racing.

  • Tanya Ray

    Formula one racing has been growing and growing as day passed every year and it really amazes me that it still not showing any lack of its functions. I think the founder really done well with this formula one racing and also I would like to give credit to the racers and to the teams because as far as I know and as what I have seen all are great and very competitive.

  • Jessie

    Racing is about a competitiveness on each individual racer and unfortunately I don’t have that kind of attitude, I just like watching competitive people compete each other and I find it enjoyable in my sight and in my opinion I think I don’t have to be competitive just to enjoy life. Lessons in our life does not always mean on winning but on being happy, because nothing compares a life that is full of happiness.

Leave a Reply

