Granger Whitelaw: Weekly Blog

Granger Whitelaw: Media Reaction to Michael Schumacher’s 2nd retirement

Twenty four hours ago, the most successful Formula One driver in history announced his second retirement from Formula One. At the end of 2006, Schumacher, the most dominant formula one driver in history retired (some say not willingly) near the top of his career. Holding nearly every record on the books:

Most Wins, Most Pole Positions, Most Points, Most Fastest Laps, Most Championships, Most Podiums, Most back to back championships, Most wins in a season, most consecutive wins, and the list goes on.

In 2006, Schumacher seemed to be pushed out of Ferrari to make room for Kimi Raikkonen, at his press conference, many keen observers saw that Schumacher looked more like he was pushed, than jumped. Fast forward to 2012, Schumacher retires again after three disappointing years at Mercedes. As the facts come out, many speculate that 2006 and 2012 might have been very similar. In 2012, Schumacher had a unilateral option to renew his contract, he delayed and let the option expire, having doubts about his commitment, and the ability of Mercedes to challenge for the championship. With time ticking away, a nervous Ross Brawn aggressively courted Lewis Hamilton, one of only stars without a contract. Schumacher was not pushed, he was informed at every stage, and seemed to be relieved in the end that the decision was made for him. It is possible 2006 was a similar situation, Ferrari management was nervous Schumacher might not decide to renew his contract too late in the game for Ferrari to find a suitable replacement.

Media reaction is below:

The Daily Guardian has this to say:

 

It seems almost fitting that Schumacher should announce his retirement at Suzuka, a track where he has won six times, and where he clinched two of his titles, including the 2000 success that kick-started Ferrari’s period of domination.

And he intends to finish his career on a high, starting with Sunday’s race. “It is now key what comes with six races to go,” he said. “I will do exactly as I did the first time I retired. I will focus 100% on what I am doing and then look at what happens next. I have options obviously, but what they are I will decide when the time is right. I had options to stay but did not feel right about it.”

He will be best remembered for helping to revive Ferrari’s fortunes after joining them in 1996 along with Brawn, Jean Todt, Rory Byrne and Paolo Martinelli, and winning five straight titles between 2000–04.

Along the way he set new standards in terms of driver fitness and of understanding of race strategy as he and Brawn dovetailed beautifully.

 

UK”s Daily Mail’s reaction snippets:

However, his return to the sport he once ruled has not been a success and he has taken just one podium finish over the last three seasons, that result coming at Valencia earlier this year.

There had been suggestions Schumacher would join Sauber, for whom he raced sportscars in the late 1980s and early 1990s, in 2013, but he has instead opted to stop racing.

Schumacher, his voice breaking with emotion, was flanked by Brawn and Mercedes motorsport boss Norbert Haug as he made his announcement. And Haug paid a glowing tribute to Schumacher.

He said: ‘I thank Michael. We have known each other a long time, we started together in Group C racing and he went on to be the most successful driver in Formula One, winning more races and titles than any other driver.

 

 

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

24 responses to “Granger Whitelaw: Weekly Blog

  • Mel Radigm

    I am a fan of formula one racing and I know Michael Schumacher that good and I believe it’s some sort of early to him doing that thing and he is at still top of his career so I have a reaction also to Michael Schumacher’s 2nd retirement. His second retirement last 2 days ago, I could not possibly point out the reason since I literally don’t know the reason but I think that is not a good thing to him since I still believe in his courage and skills to the sport. Many will agree to me on this since they too have seen what I have seen of the skills of Michael Schumacher.

  • Roger Span

    This is a sad blog and article, I feel sad for Michael Schumacher because I think he is a great racer and I followed him through his race and I think he can still show more. Well, it’s his decision and I respect but it’s just that this is some sort of a very early retirement for him but nevertheless I still hope a good life for him outside racing. Thanks for sharing the news and also your thoughts about it and I have read it all. I will still look forward on racing and I hope the event will still be full of excitement even though one of the great racers is not on it anymore.

  • Ferdinand Pand

    I have read part of your article on the UK”s Daily Mail’s reaction snippets and “There had been suggestions Schumacher would join Sauber, for whom he raced sportscars in the late 1980s and early 1990s, in 2013, but he has instead opted to stop racing”, that is really some heart breaking news for us because we expect so much to it. Although it’s not so glad to our side but I think we should let him do what he wants and move on, well he was once a great mark on the book of history of racing and there is no reason that he will be forgotten.

  • Vandol

    I witnessed this paragraph that I quoted “In 2006, Schumacher seemed to be pushed out of Ferrari to make room for Kimi Raikkonen, at his press conference, many keen observers saw that Schumacher looked more like he was pushed, than jumped.”, and I think it’s a kind of sad to the part of Schumacher’s fans but though after that he still manage to make things better and his fans always believe that he deserves a good match always. This is a sad news but I believe all things happen for a reason.

  • Grego Montez

    I am not much into formula one racing or any car racing but I know in every race or sports, every racer or athlete that takes a retirement is a sad thing for the sport and the fans and also even more sadder if it is an early retirement. I am a sport enthusiast but not a racer but one thing I can say is that sports and racing sports are just the same when it comes to the times of the retirements of the great athlete or racer and I think each of us will accept that if that time comes, we accept that just like how we accept their skills on their race or sport.

  • Peten Glue

    I don’t know what to say when I clicked and found this “Schumacher’s seat at Mercedes will be taken by McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton in 2013, and with a lack of other options available to the German he has opted to quit the sport at the age of 43.”, I think I have a mixed emotions right now and I am speechless. I know Lewis is good and really a talented racer but I think it’s still early though not very early, but early for Michael.

  • Romnick Herald

    I can’t comment about a news and I think it is not connected with rocket racing league. I understand that this was posted here because you like racing and formula one racing and I know you are also a part of formula one. I don’t know much about formula one race but I think there are things not just in race but to most of things that we should accept because there are relevant reasons behind it and I think this is one of it. I don’t know about this guy michael but I think he is a good racer since many likes him.

  • Miz Vergo

    This is a sad story and I even went to the The Daily Guardian to see this one and read their article there about this one. As I read I have stumbled and really look at this one clearly “Schumacher’s voice broke with emotion as he revealed he would retire, but he insisted the decision to once again leave the sport is the right one, confessing he is “empty”.”, I don’t know what to say to this exactly but I feel those who are a fan of him and I hope this will be a good retirement for him.

  • Steven Coca

    I read all the top comments up to the bottom comments and I guess everyone is sad. I’m here just to say don’t be sad to this type of happening because there are reasons for it and I guess Michael has his own reasons too. What we must do now is watch the latest season and have fun watching. We all love racing and there is nothing to be worry about this happening. I hope all of you can move on now.

  • marlon young

    This article for me is a very bad news, I feel very sad for Mr. Michael Schumacher . I know he can still show more its not yet the time for a retirement, it is a very early retirement for him.You’re fans will surely be sad after hearing this article. I hope the new racers will come will be far better than you. I know it’s a bit sad but it’s his decision, so we must respect it. I’m just hoping for a good race eventhough one of the greatest racer will nor be playing anymore.

  • Romeo Montez

    Racing is such my passion but I haven’t drove on the actual race track of professionals yet but let me share you a good quote about racing so you all would be encouraged and be inspired.

    I was quiet, a loner. I was one of those children where, if you put me in a room and gave me some crayons and a pencils, you wouldn’t hear from me for nine straight hours. And I was always drawing racing cars and rockets and spaceships and planes, things that were very fast that would take me away.
    – Gary Oldman

  • Jim Rapson

    Sometimes there are things that must be accepted I guess since he is the one who made the decision. Anyway, thanks for sharing your blogs and articles, I have read them all and I think I love reading most of it. I think you are really a great player in sport and you really love sports and race sports to be exact. I am also a fan of race sports and it really makes us men excited watching such events of this or participating on any type of this events.

  • Bunny John

    Now lete me put some answer here who wants to ask what formula one is and I have this from wiki “A Formula One race or Grand Prix is a sporting event which takes place over three days (usually Friday to Sunday), with a series of practice and qualifying sessions prior to a race on Sunday.
    Current regulations provide for two free practice sessions on Friday, a practice session and a qualifying session on Saturday, and the race on Sunday, though the structure of the weekend has changed numerous times over the history of the sport.”.

  • Dante

    This is some sort of a sad scene and everyone has observed this one “In 2006, Schumacher seemed to be pushed out of Ferrari to make room for Kimi Raikkonen”, I feel sad also by watching it and it’s kind of awkward also. Ferrari is a great brand and many acknowledges it by its great unique car products and even me I really want to have one.

  • Jack

    I don’t know what to say about the retirement of Michael Schumacher but since Michael Schumacher is from ferrari I would like to say that ferrari is just so famous and a very popular in my place for having such luxurious cars and their models are really great in design and also in car form. Anyway I want to have a ferrari car even just one ha ha lol.

  • Cyrus Moild

    I too have speculations like this one “There had been suggestions Schumacher would join Sauber, for whom he raced sportscars in the late 1980s and early 1990s, in 2013”, I though it would go that way also but I’m mistaken and right now I still don’t know what reasons does he have for doing that. Anyway thanks for updates about it.

  • diego

    After reading your article I just remember my feelings and emotions that I felt long ago with this line “In 2006, Schumacher seemed to be pushed out of Ferrari to make room for Kimi Raikkonen”, that time was really hilarious for me and I don’t know at first what is happening but right now I totally understand what happened on that time and it’s really sad.

  • Rohan

    Racing is such a nice sport and many likes it because it is a very thrilling sport. I love many races even horseback riding race or what do they call that I also like that race but I think formula one is the race that I like in all of the races that I like. I want to be a racer someday but just now I am just racing with my cousins in our bicycles ha ha lol.

  • Kevin Lewis

    Somewhat somehow in our life we have to understand things that are not understandable and accept the things that others do as long as they don’t literally hurt us. Anyway thanks for sharing this one though I have read it already on a yahoo news if I am not mistaken or just a local news. Keep on sharing.

  • Mild Jr.

    The Daily Guardian really wrote this one in a great way “It seems almost fitting that Schumacher should announce his retirement at Suzuka, a track where he has won six times, and where he clinched two of his titles”, it’s really something to announce on that kind of place where you have a great history of. I guess this is somewhat a great change that happened in the field of racing.

  • Fel James

    Michael Schumacher is really a famous racer and almost all of the people in our country that is a fan of races really knows him well, in terms of skills and talents on racing but anyway this is not about that, I think he really made a decision and I think I won’t comment to that but I will just say ferrari is very lucky to have him.

  • Xyle John

    Yeah the four guys were great “He will be best remembered for helping to revive Ferrari’s fortunes after joining them in 1996 along with Brawn, Jean Todt, Rory Byrne and Paolo Martinelli” and Michael is really been recognized by this one, not just this one but also to the records that he held for many years and some of it are still on his name and that’s why it’s kind of depressing for the fans hearing this news.

  • Owl Pearl

    Michael is one of the most talented and skilled men in racing and I know you are thinking the same with me in that. His records are really amazing and awesome and many idolizes him for being too confident and gutsy. He wins his title races due to his will on aiming and targeting number one spot but lately this news came out and his fans really feel not good about it and it is just that most of the fans did not understand what exactly happened.

  • Marky

    Yes and because of this we can maybe call this as final “It seems almost fitting that Schumacher should announce his retirement at Suzuka, a track where he has won six times”. I mean it is really reasonable and also very touching for Michael to do such announcing on that certain place, I know that it is not coincidence and I know it was really planned. I hope many will go for the decision of Michael. Anyway he did a great job in racing and really did good race.

Leave a Reply

