When F1 first came to Texas…

When F1 first came to Texas….

Another great article by F1 insider Peter Windsor on Formula One’s first trip to Texas for a Grand prix nearly 30 years ago.

On my Granger Whitelaw.org site I have shared my love of Formula One an Indycar racing, stop by and read some of my posts.

Here’s a snippet of Peter’s recollections of the United States Grand Prix, Dallas. Click the link at the top to read the rest, of this highly interesting blog post, and to see his many candid behind the scenes personal photographs….

When F1 first came to Texas…  …it took over the entire city of Dallas. It was a street race. It was hot – very hot. And the city said “F1″ wherever you went.It was different this year in Austin. The circuit is out of town. You sat in a coffee shop near the University of Texas and the world of F1 was about as far away as rainy day in Woking.That’s not how it was in Dallas ’84. Maybe it was because Lorimar’s Dallas had never been more omnipresent. The whole world talked about it – not as a “soap”, as it is glibly described today, but as a skillfully-enacted drama that was about as close to reality as anyone had ever dared to step. That’s how F1 people felt about it, anyway. And the people of Dallas embraced their amazing new F1 race, for it was everything that their show was too: it was about money, power, ego, politics, sex… and it was played out in a world within a world…  CLICK THE LINK AT THE TOP TO READ COMPLETE ARTICLEBest,

Granger Whitelaw

About Granger Whitelaw

Granger Whitelaw founded the Rocket Racing League along with partner, Peter Diamandis in 2005. See more information at http://www.grangerwhitelaw.com/blog and http://grangerwhitelaw.brandyourself.com View all posts by Granger Whitelaw

4 responses to “When F1 first came to Texas…

  • Warren

    Yeah! I can really imagine when Formula One came to Texas though I haven’t been there. I wondered what is really happening but I can imagine it through my mind since you really took your time and effort to state the story of formula one when it came to Texas. I really managed to read all the lines and I know it’s a very overwhelming thing for the people to welcome such a big thing a really have to deal thing and it’s Formula One Racing.

  • Karl Greg

    I really want to comment that this is normal ” That’s how F1 people felt about it, anyway. And the people of Dallas embraced their amazing new F1 race, for it was everything that their show was too”, even me if I have experience or if my place have experienced that one too , maybe I or we will be really overwhelmed since it is a good and big opportunity not just for me but also to others and there are only selected places which have this kind of racing and it is really making me jealous to those places but anyway thanks for sharing.

  • Walley

    Peter Windsor is a great man and a very well known man in the world of formula one racing. So this is a some sort of history of formula one when it came to Dallas and this was 30 years ago. It is really a long time ago but I think I can still imagine as I have read the content of the above article Dallas is so lucky for participating in a great and well known formula one racing. Anyway it’s been 30 years and all are improving.

  • James

    Even if this happens in my place this will also be a reflection to it “The whole world talked about it – not as a “soap”, as it is glibly described today, but as a skillfully”, I mean it is not easy to purchase or what do you call it, to have formula one racing on your place on to make your place a part of formula one racing.

Leave a Reply

